warning: file_exists(): open_basedir restriction in effect. File(/var/www/vhosts/glencoenews.com/httpdocs/../ad_/ad_cache_.inc) is not within the allowed path(s): (/var/www/vhosts/glencoenews.com/httpdocs/:/tmp/) in /var/www/vhosts/glencoenews.com/httpdocs/sites/all/modules/ad/adserve.inc on line 160.

Archive - Nov 2014


November 5th

Wee Friends Halloween­­ fun

Fall concert

Gruenhagen easily wins re-election

State Rep. Glenn Gruenhagen, R-Glencoe, easily won re-election to his Minnesota District 18B House seat Tuesday. He defeated DFL challenger John Lipke with 8,801 votes to Lipke's 4,939, according to unofficial results on the Minnesota Secretary of State's website.

November 4th

Robeck wins city seat; Krueger defeats Terlinden

The city of Glencoe had three council seats on the ballot in Tuesday’s election. There will be one new council member as of Jan. 1 as former city employee Allen Robeck defeated incumbent Lori Adamietz in the at-large councilor race, 902 votes to 609. Precinct 3 incumbent Gary Ziemer was returned to another term with 284 votes to challenger Marie Thurn’s 164. John Schrupp, running unopposed in Precinct 2, was re-elected with 344 votes.

Incumbents returned to Glencoe-Silver Lake School Board

Glencoe-Silver Lake's three incumbent school board members were returned to their seats in Tuesday's election.

Re-elected were Jason Lindeman with 2,309 votes, Clark J. Christianson with 2,208, and Anne Twiss with 1,909. Also running were Pat Fogarty, who earned 1,895 votes, and former school board member Gary Schreifels, who had 1,298 votes.

County to have 2 new commissioners

McLeod County will have two new commissioners Jan. 1.

District 2 Commissioner Kermit Terlinden lost his seat to challenger Doug Krueger in Tuesday's election, and District 5 incumbent Jon Christensen was defeated by challenger Joe Nagel. Krueger had 1,290 votes to Terlinden's 997, while Nagel had 1,209 votes to Christensen's 1,175.