warning: file_exists(): open_basedir restriction in effect. File(/var/www/vhosts/glencoenews.com/httpdocs/../ad_/ad_cache_.inc) is not within the allowed path(s): (/var/www/vhosts/glencoenews.com/httpdocs/:/tmp/) in /var/www/vhosts/glencoenews.com/httpdocs/sites/all/modules/ad/adserve.inc on line 160.

Archive - Nov 8, 2016


Glencoe to have 2 new council members

The city of Glencoe will have two new council members Jan. 1, according to unofficial election results.
Milan Alexander defeated incumbent Daniel Perschau 367-253 in Precinct 1 and Cory Neid defeated incumbent Kevin Dietz 316-281 in Precinct 4.
Mayor Randy Wilson held off a write-in campaign by Jeffrey Scharpe to retain his seat, 1,243 votes to 1,135 write-in votes.

Pohlmeier appears to be new District 4 county commissioner

Rich Pohlmeier will be the new McLeod County Commissioner for District 4, according to unofficial election results.
Pohlmeier, of Brownton, received 1,576 votes to Jeff Nies’ 1,411. Nies is from Hutchinson, and is the son of retiring Commissioner Sheldon Nies. There were 399 write-in votes, but it was unknown Tuesday night how many of those were for Ane Fitzgerald, who ran a write-in campaign.

Incumbents re-elected in Brownton

Incumbent Mayor Norman Schwarze and incumbent city council members Tim Olson and Brian Dressel were re-elected to their respective seats in Brownton, according to unofficial election results.

Schwarze was relected with 228 votes to challenger Tyler Raddatz' 101. Dressel received 228 votes and Olson had 206. Candidates Tina Fahey and Larry Durbin garnered 78 and 53 respectively.