November 9th, 2016

Newman, Gruenhagen re-elected to state seats

State Sen. Scott Newman, R-Hutchinson, and state Rep. Glenn Gruenhagen, R-Glencoe, were re-elected to their seats in Tuesday's election, according to unofficial results on the Minnesota Secretary of State website.

Newman, who represents Senate District 18, earned 26,343 votes to DFL challenger Amy Wilde's 13,150, giving him a 66.4 percent majority. Gruenhagen, who represents House District 18B, drew 13,167 votes as compared to DFL challenger Darrel Mosel's 6,229, a 67.8 percent majority.

Panthers fall in subsection semifinals

 The 2016 season came to a close earlier than the Glencoe-Silver Lake volleyball team would have liked, as the Panthers lost in four games (20-25, 25-23, 20-25, 25-15) to Southwest Christian in the Section 2AA North subsection semifinals.
In a mild upset, the third-seeded Stars emerged from a tightly-contested first three games to streak away in game four and take the match 3-1.

Cross-country trio finishes season at state

Once again, Glencoe-Silver Lake’s 2016 fall sports season came to a close in Northfield with the running of the state cross-country meet on the hills and trails of St. Olaf College. 
Three Panthers made the cut for this year’s state Class A field. 
The GSL senior tandem of Austin Schroepfer and Michael Meyer were making a return visit to the Class A boys’ race, running this time as individual qualifiers. 

November 8th

Glencoe to have 2 new council members

The city of Glencoe will have two new council members Jan. 1, according to unofficial election results.
Milan Alexander defeated incumbent Daniel Perschau 367-253 in Precinct 1 and Cory Neid defeated incumbent Kevin Dietz 316-281 in Precinct 4.
Mayor Randy Wilson held off a write-in campaign by Jeffrey Scharpe to retain his seat, 1,243 votes to 1,135 write-in votes.

Pohlmeier appears to be new District 4 county commissioner

Rich Pohlmeier will be the new McLeod County Commissioner for District 4, according to unofficial election results.
Pohlmeier, of Brownton, received 1,576 votes to Jeff Nies’ 1,411. Nies is from Hutchinson, and is the son of retiring Commissioner Sheldon Nies. There were 399 write-in votes, but it was unknown Tuesday night how many of those were for Ane Fitzgerald, who ran a write-in campaign.

Incumbents re-elected in Brownton

Incumbent Mayor Norman Schwarze and incumbent city council members Tim Olson and Brian Dressel were re-elected to their respective seats in Brownton, according to unofficial election results.

Schwarze was relected with 228 votes to challenger Tyler Raddatz' 101. Dressel received 228 votes and Olson had 206. Candidates Tina Fahey and Larry Durbin garnered 78 and 53 respectively.

November 3rd

Wee Friends visit Grand Meadows

November 2nd

High Island Creek Watershed - Notice of meeting change

High Island Creek Watershed
The regular monthly meeting of the High Island Creek Watershed District Board of Managers during the months of November 2016 through March 2017, will be held on the fourth Monday of each month commencing at 1:00 p.m., at the Sibley County Service Center, 111 8th Street, Gaylord, Minnesota, 55334, EXCEPT the month of December, 2016, which meeting will be held on Tuesday, December 27, 2016, at 1:00 p.m., at the Sibley County Service Center, 111 8th Street, Gaylord, Minnesota, 55334.  

Probate - Mattson

           Court File No: 43-PR-16-1391    Estate of
Richard Edward Mattson,

Spikers sweep in sectional opener