October 15th, 2014

Robeck understands city’s infrastructure

To the Editor:
Finally! We have a young man running for the council seat-at-large in the city of Glencoe who is very knowledgeable of the infrastructure in this city. He understands the problems that may occur and will see that they are taken care of correctly.
Do yourself a favor for all of us and vote for Allen Robeck, council person at-large.
R.L. Hatlestad

County tables adding E-cigs to ordinance

The McLeod County Board put on hold proposed changes to its tobacco ordinance and workplace policy to include e-cigarettes and “nicotine and tobacco-related delivery devices and similar products” after a public hearing at its Oct. 7 meeting.
McLeod County Public Health Educator Jean Johnson told the County Board that the proposed ordinance change would require e-cigarette vendors to be subject to the same licensing requirements as for other tobacco products, such as regular cigarettes and chewing tobacco.

GSL ends breakfast in classroom

The “breakfast in the classroom” program at Glencoe-Silver Lake elementary schools will end at the end of October, and breakfast will be served in the cafeteria beginning Nov. 3, the GSL School Board heard Monday night.
Business Manager Michelle Sander said she and elementary principal Bill Butler were “just not seeing things we want to see happen.”
Sander said by serving breakfast in the cafeteria again, a hot breakfast will be available for kids, “and I know some kids really missed that.”

County Board hears request for possible veterans memorial

The McLeod County Board of Commissioners considered, but didn’t act on, a proposal to place a veterans memorial on courthouse property in Glencoe.
Commissioner Kermit Terlinden brought the possibility before the County Board at its Oct. 7 meeting, saying that an effort is under way by Glencoe veterans groups to establish a memorial.
Terlinden said one site suggested for the memorial is the  open space near the courthouse at the intersection of 11th Street and Hennepin Avenue.

Commission: what to do about deteriorating property?

The Glencoe Planning and Industrial Commission debated what to do about deteriorating, foreclosed properties and incomplete repair jobs on other buildings at its monthly meeting Thursday night at the City Center.
It took no action to strengthen its blight ordinance even after hearing horror stories from its building inspector, local fire marshal, city attorney and police chief.
At the end of the hour-long discussion, commission chairman Dewey Klaustermeier said, “I don’t know if we accomplished anything.”

Fire hall fun

Friend of Transit award

Preschoolers visit fire hall

October 8th

SL Council hears FEMA will cover partial flooding costs

At its quarterly meeting Monday, the Silver Lake City Council learned FEMA (Federal Emergency Management Agency) will not be covering the total rebuild of the catch basin located at Main Street and Oliver Avenue.
Public Works Supervisor Dale Kosek said FEMA felt the damage wasn’t “totally” caused by the June rain storms, but the result of damage over time.

Gladys Ida Busse, 84, of Gaylord

Gladys Ida Busse, 84, of Gaylord, died Sunday, Oct. 5, 2014, at the Ridgeview Medical Center in Arlington.
Funeral services were held Wednesday, Oct. 8, at Immanuel Lutheran Church in Gaylord. The Rev. Ronald Mathison officiated.
Eunice Asmus was the organist. A duet consisting of Becky Busse and Renae Busse sang “Amazing Grace.” Congregational hymns were “How Great Thou Art” and “Abide With Me.”