warning: file_exists(): open_basedir restriction in effect. File(/var/www/vhosts/glencoenews.com/httpdocs/../ad_/ad_cache_.inc) is not within the allowed path(s): (/var/www/vhosts/glencoenews.com/httpdocs/:/tmp/) in /var/www/vhosts/glencoenews.com/httpdocs/sites/all/modules/ad/adserve.inc on line 160.

City of Glencoe- Council Meeting

City of Glencoe
MAY 1, 2017
7:00 P.M.
Mayor Wilson called the regular meeting of the City Council to order at 7:00 p.m. Members present: Neid, Robeck, Ziemer, Alexander and Schrupp. Also present: City Administrator Mark Larson, City Attorney Jody Winters, Finance Director Trippel, PWD Schreifels and Voigt, Police Chief Raiter, Fire Chief Grack.
Motion by Councilor Robeck, second by Councilor Neid to approve consent agenda as presented. All members voted in favor.
A.  Approve the minutes of the regular meeting of April 17, 2017.
B.  Approve the following building permits:
1. Go For It Gas, Sign Permit
2. Gene Becker, 1405 Elm Ave N; Window Replacement    
3. Charles Ramirez, 1227 14th St E; Attached Garage
4. John Noenning, 209 18th St W; Re-roof
5. Laurina Zajicek, 213 18th St W; Re-roof
6. Travis LaFountaine, 1303 Elm Ave N; Fence
7. Randy Mielke, 1812 Judd Ave N; Re-roof/Re-side
8. Ken Schrupp, 1520 15th St E; Window Replacement
9. Jeffrey Schultz, 1327 Hennepin Ave N; Mechanical Permit
10. Carl Schwing, 620 DeSoto Ave N; Re-roof
11. Greg Odegaard, 1408 20th St E; Re-roof
12. Paul Harpel, 2006 Judd Ave N; Re-roof
13. Kurt Pevestorf, 2405 11th St E; Re-roof
14. Mark Dressen, 1225 Armstrong Ave N; Re-roof
C.  Approve the following licenses:
Shopko, Retailer’s Fireworks License
Paul Donna of RW Baird presented the financing plan for the Baxter Avenue Project. Estimated sources and uses were reviewed for the $5,035,000 bank qualified GO Bonds Series 2017B. The bond will be priced the week of May 22 and closing of the bond week of June 12, 2017. This will be a 15 year repayment with estimated interest at 2.48%.
Discussion led to Councilor Ziemer introducing the following resolution providing for issuance and sale of the bonds:
BE IT RESOLVED By the City Council (the “Council”) of the City of Glencoe, Minnesota (the “City”) as follows:
Complete resolution on file in office of City Administrator.
After council approved officers, Mayor Wilson administered the oath of office to the officers and new firefighters. New members are Andy Hoffman, Jason Oelfke, John Krueger, Jeremy Hardel, Edgar Tobon and Tony Paggen.
Motion by Councilor Neid and second by Councilor Schrupp to take the special use request and minor subdivision request of Glencoe Progressive Partners for townhome construction in an R-1 zone back to the Planning and Zoning Commission for reconsideration at their May 11th meeting.
All members voted in favor.
Glencoe Progressive Partners will present additional information regarding their request at the commission meeting to clarify the commissions concerns.
Motion to approve the following Fire Department officers by Member Robeck and second by member Schrupp. All members voted in favor.
Ron Grack-Chief, James Voigt-Assistant Chief
Engine Co. 331- Jeremy Mattson-Captain, James Schroepfer-1st Lt, Jon Dahlke-2nd Lt
Engine Co. 33- James Madden-Captain, Tom Brinkmann-1st Lt, Grant Schwendemann-2nd Lt
Engine Co. 335-John Van Duynhoven-Captain, Brandon Hahn-1st Lt, Andy Wiedendorf-2nd Lt
Training Officers –Kelly Mahon, John Van Duynhoven
Motion to appoint Sharon Hoese to Park Board open position by member Schrupp and second by member Alexander. All members voted in favor.
Motion to approve payment of city bills entered by Councilor Schrupp, seconded by Councilor Neid. All members voted in favor.
Mayor Wilson called for adjournment at 7:33 p.m. Councilor Robeck entered the motion with Councilor Ziemer seconding. All members voted in favor.    
The above minutes are the official actions taken by the city council. The complete minutes are on file and available for review in the office of the City Administrator.
(Published in The McLeod County Chronicle May 24, 2017)