warning: file_exists(): open_basedir restriction in effect. File(/var/www/vhosts/glencoenews.com/httpdocs/../ad_/ad_cache_.inc) is not within the allowed path(s): (/var/www/vhosts/glencoenews.com/httpdocs/:/tmp/) in /var/www/vhosts/glencoenews.com/httpdocs/sites/all/modules/ad/adserve.inc on line 160.

General Election set for Tuesday, Nov. 4

The General Election is set for Tuesday, Nov. 4, and polls throughout the state will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.
Area precincts and candidates are:
• City of Glencoe. All voting for the city, Glencoe-Silver Lake School District and McLeod County Commissioner District 2 races, as well as state and federal offices, will take place at the Glencoe City Center, 1107 11th St. E, Suite 112.
All city of Glencoe voters may vote for the at-large City Council position. Candidates are incumbent Lori Adamietz and challenger Allen Robeck.
Seats in two of the four precincts also are up for election. John Schrupp, incumbent in Precinct 2, is running unopposed. In Precinct 3, incumbent Gary Ziemer is being challenged by Marie Thurn.
The city of Glencoe also is included in McLeod County Commissioner District 2, where incumbent Kermit Terlinden is being challenged by Doug Krueger.
Also on the ballot are candidates for the Glencoe-Silver Lake School Board. There are three open seats, for which they are five candidates. They include incumbents Clark Christianson, Jason Lindeman and Anne Twiss, former GSL Board Member Gary Schreifels, and newcomer Pat Fogarty.
Glencoe also is in Minnesota House District 18B, where incumbent state Rep. Glenn Gruenhagen, R-Glencoe, is being challenged by John Lipke, DFL-Stewart.
 • City of Brownton. Voting takes place at the Brownton Community Center, 310 Second St. N, Brownton.
On the ballot in city races are the mayor’s two-year term and two City Council seats for four-year terms.
Longtime Council Member Norm Schwarze is running for mayor, as is resident Sarah Potts. Current Mayor Jay Werner did not file for candidacy.
Incumbent Doug Block filed for re-election to the City Council. Former Mayor Curt Carrigan also filed for the City Council. Incumbent Council Member Chuck Warner did not file for re-election.
Brownton residents also will vote in the GSL School Board election and House District 18B election, as well as for state and federal offices.

For more on polling places, see the Oct. 29 print edition of The Chronicle.