warning: file_exists(): open_basedir restriction in effect. File(/var/www/vhosts/glencoenews.com/httpdocs/../ad_/ad_cache_.inc) is not within the allowed path(s): (/var/www/vhosts/glencoenews.com/httpdocs/:/tmp/) in /var/www/vhosts/glencoenews.com/httpdocs/sites/all/modules/ad/adserve.inc on line 160.

Glencoe to have 2 new council members

The city of Glencoe will have two new council members Jan. 1, according to unofficial election results.
Milan Alexander defeated incumbent Daniel Perschau 367-253 in Precinct 1 and Cory Neid defeated incumbent Kevin Dietz 316-281 in Precinct 4.
Mayor Randy Wilson held off a write-in campaign by Jeffrey Scharpe to retain his seat, 1,243 votes to 1,135 write-in votes.
Rich Pohlmeier will be the new McLeod County Commissioner for District 4.
Pohlmeier, of Brownton, received 1,576 votes to Jeff Nies’ 1,411. Nies is from Hutchinson, and is the son of retiring Commissioner Sheldon Nies. There were 399 write-in votes, but it was unknown Tuesday night how many of those were for Ane Fitzgerald, who ran a write-in campaign.
Paul Wright, rural Hutchinson was returned to the District 3 county board seat, with 1,998 votes to challenger Rob Raiche’s 1,369. Raiche is from Hutchinson.
Commissioner Ron Shimanski, Silver Lake, running unopposed in District 1, received 3,291 votes to be elected to another term.
Incumbent city council members and mayors were re-relected in Biscay, Brownton and Silver Lake.
In Biscay, Mayor Thomas Urban was re-elected to a two-year term with 37 votes, while incumbent council members Donovan Dose and Leroy Knoll were elected to two-year terms with 39 and 44 votes respectively, and incumbent Dennis Schwanke was re-elected to a four-year term with 46 votes.
In Brownton, Mayor Norman Schwarze was re-elected with 228 votes to challenger Tyler Raddatz’ 101, and incumbent council members Brian Dressel and Tim Olson were returned to their seats with 228 and 206 votes respectively, while candidate Larry Durbin garnered 53 votes and candidate Tina Fahey attracted 78.
Silver Lake Mayor Bruce Bebo was returned for a two-year term with 282 votes while challenger James Pavlish earned 81 votes. Incumbent council members Brenda Fogarty and Nolan Johnson were re-elected with 287 and 298 votes, respectively.
Plato had two open council seats and four candidates. Incumbent Dennis Oltmann was re-elected with 128 votes, and Stacy Sohns earned the other seat with 58 votes. Jamie Krueger received 54 votes and Eric Seeman had 52. Incumbent councilor Robert Pflipsen chose not to run again.
In Stewart, there was no candidate for mayor, but incumbent mayor Jason Peirce had 30 write-in votes and Kevin Klucas had 29. Incumbent council members Klucas and Carol Altrichter were re-elected with 109 and 128 votes, respectively.
In New Auburn, Mayor Doug Munsch was re-elected with 120 votes to Fred Grack’s 48. Dennis Kuehl was re-elected as a council member with 118 votes, while Wayne “Scootie” Schultz received 123 votes for the other council seat. Incumbent Becky Brockoff received 75 votes.
Area township results include:
Glencoe Township — Bruce Bargmann and Michael Keenan were elected supervisors, while David Milbrand was elected clerk and Tim Haag was elected treasurer. All ran uncontested.
Helen Township — Leslie Engelmann was re-elected supervisor.
Rich Valley — John Mohr was elected supervisor over incumbent Bob Novak, 245-135; Tom Radtke was elected supervisor over incumbent Rodney Schmidt, 182-179; and Faye Bruckschen, running unopposed, was re-elected clerk with 353 votes.
Sumter Township — Scott Erpelding was elected supervisor with 137 votes over Chad Duehn’s 116; Jeff Kosek was re-elected supervisor with 241 votes and Donald Husske was re-elected treasurer with 224 votes.
All three Glencoe-Silver Lake School Board candidates, all incumbents, were easily returned to their seats — Jamie Alsleben, Kevin Kuester and Donna VonBerge. They ran unopposed.