warning: file_exists(): open_basedir restriction in effect. File(/var/www/vhosts/glencoenews.com/httpdocs/../ad_/ad_cache_.inc) is not within the allowed path(s): (/var/www/vhosts/glencoenews.com/httpdocs/:/tmp/) in /var/www/vhosts/glencoenews.com/httpdocs/sites/all/modules/ad/adserve.inc on line 160.

GSL musicians earn superior, excellent ratings at state/region

On April 11, 84 members of the Glencoe-Silver Lake High School (GSL) bands and choirs participated in the state-section solo/ensemble contest at Minnesota State University, Mankato. This contest is sponsored by the Minnesota State High School League and allows students to perform instrumental and vocal solos and small ensembles before a certified adjudicator.
Band soloists receiving the highest rating of “superior” include:
Robin Swift, euphonium; Mark Broderius, tuba; Alyson Winn, clarinet; Erica Hecksel, flute; Jack Gepson, trumpet; Laura Popelka, clarinet; Leam Armstrong, tenor saxophone; and Richard Wilson, baritone saxophone.
Receiving superior ratings for band ensembles were:
• Symphonic saxophone ensemble (Micki Frahm, Paige Litzau, Leam Armstrong, Brandi Pikal and Thomas Villareal).
• Symphonic clarinet ensemble (Laura Popelka, Mariah Koester, Veronica Tkachenko, Morgan Stoeckman, Aryana Lasley-Winkelman, Cadi Brooks, Emilee Hasert-Barajas and Sierra Trebesch).
• Symphonic brass ensemble (Chandler Swift, Kelli Bailey, Will Mickolichek, Emily Ward, Shania Rose, Macy Rhodes, Michaela Neyers, Jaecub Fodurulia, Jessica Alsleben, Nathan Welch, Leam Armstrong, Thomas Villareal, Cole Novack and Kyle Wanous).
• Concert band saxophone ensemble (Piper Davis, Ashley Alsleben, Taryn Reichow, Wyatt Ackerson, Lili Mallak and Richard Wilson).
• Jazz I (Piper Davis, Ashley Alsleben, Lili Mallak, Leam Armstrong, Richard Wilson, Maddie Kuehn, Jack Gepson, Emily Oberlin, Adam Garoutte, Mariah Guldemann-Chiariello, Robin Swift, Jake Vasek, Mark Broderius, Amanda Husted, Alyson Winn, Chandler Swift, Laura Popelka and Noah Tankersley).
• Concert band woodwind ensemble (Alyson Winn, Darin Emery, Ari Thayer, Lili Mallak, Jordan Bergemann, DJ Wemhoff, Cora Kuras, Rachel Reichow, Dini Schweickert, Allie Eischens and Grei Butterfield).
• Concert band percussion ensemble (Tina Bonillo, Alyson Winn, Amanda Husted, Brooke Noeldner, Katie Twiss, Cora Kuras, Ashley Alsleben, Jack Gepson and Lili Mallak).
• Saxophone duet (Piper Davis and Ashley Alsleben).
• Clarinet duet (Lili Mallak and Alyson Winn).
• Symphonic band woodwind ensemble (Maggie Petersen, Daria Fegley, Cassie Shemanek, Marissa Kirchoff, Mariah Koester and Veronica Tkachenko).
• Concert band flute quartet (Erica Hecksel, Allie Eischens, Grei Butterfield and Morgyn Robinson).
Receiving superior ratings for vocal solos were: Julia Gomez, mezzo soprano; Mark Broderius, bass; Sadie Paumen, soprano; Rachel Bonderman, soprano; Brooke Noeldner, mezzo soprano; Maddie Kuehn, mezzo soprano; Emmi Jerabek, mezzo soprano; Cole Cameron, tenor; Jake Fehrenbach, baritone; Richard Wilson, bass; Marissa Kirchoff, contralto; Allie Harpel, mezzo soprano; and Emily Orocio, mezzo soprano.
Receiving superior ratings for vocal ensembles:
• Vocal trio, “Sweet Love Doth Now Invite” (Sadie Paumen, Rachel Bonderman and Leah Peterson).
• Vocal duet, “When I Am Silent” (Emmi Jerabek and Julia Gomez).
• Vocal duet, “Come Thou Fount” (Becca Green and Brooke Noeldner).
• Vocal duet, “The Cuckoo” (Maddie Kuehn and Amanda Husted).
• Vocal trio, “May It Be” (Emmi Jerabek, Julia Gomez and Marisa Luchsinger).
Receiving excellent ratings for vocal solos were Aryanna Lasley-Winkelman, mezzo soprano; and Autumn Lindback, soprano.
Receiving excellent ratings for vocal ensembles were:
• Vocal trio, “Sound of Silence” (Mady Posusta, Faith Rakow and Allie Harpel).
• Vocal trio, “Sixteen Tons” (Kyle Wanous, Jake Vasek and Mark Broderius).
• Vocal quartet “Prayer of the Children” (Ben Rockswold, Cole Cameron, Travis Uecker and Mark Broderius.
• Vocal sextet, “The Garden of Music” (Paige Anderson, Faith Havlik, Jessica Brusven, Michaela Tichy, Becca Green and Liz Boyum.