warning: file_exists(): open_basedir restriction in effect. File(/var/www/vhosts/glencoenews.com/httpdocs/../ad_/ad_cache_.inc) is not within the allowed path(s): (/var/www/vhosts/glencoenews.com/httpdocs/:/tmp/) in /var/www/vhosts/glencoenews.com/httpdocs/sites/all/modules/ad/adserve.inc on line 160.

Incumbents challenged in 2 county commissioner districts

There will be races in two of the three McLeod County commissioner districts that are up for election this year.

There are three candidates each in District 3 and District 4, which means those seats will be subject to the August primary election to determine the final two candidates for the November general election.

Paul Wright, rural Hutchinson, the incumbent for District 3, has filed for candidacy. He is being challenged by Rob Raiche, Hutchinson, and Kevin Masrud, Stewart.

District 4 Commissioner Sheldon Nies has decided to retire at the end of his current term. Candidates for his seat are his son, Jeff Nies of Hutchinson, Rich Pohlmeier of Brownton and Brad Wick of Hutchinson.

District 1 Commissioner Ron Shimanski has filed for candidacy for re-election to his seat, and has no challengers.

Also open for filings were three Soil and Water supervisor positions. Jeremy Bolland, Brownton, has filed for the District 3 seat, John Adamek, Hutchinson, has filed for the District 4 seat, and Mark Schnobrich, Hutchinson, has filed for the District 5 seat. All are incumbents and all are running unopposed.

Because the city of Hutchinson is subject to a primary election, filing also were open for city offices. Incumbent Mayor Gary T. Forcier has filed for re-election and will be running unopposed. Four candidates have filed for the council seat currently held by Bill Arndt, who is not running. Candidates are William K. Teetzel, Chris Stoick, Mark Rutz and former mayor Steve Cook.

Incumbent council member Chad C. Czmowski has filed for re-election, and is being challenged by Joel Uldrych.

Filings closed Tuesday afternoon.

Filings in cities that do not require a primary election will open Aug. 2 and will remain open until Aug. 16.