warning: file_exists(): open_basedir restriction in effect. File(/var/www/vhosts/glencoenews.com/httpdocs/../ad_/ad_cache_.inc) is not within the allowed path(s): (/var/www/vhosts/glencoenews.com/httpdocs/:/tmp/) in /var/www/vhosts/glencoenews.com/httpdocs/sites/all/modules/ad/adserve.inc on line 160.

Newman to chair Senate Transportation Committee

State Sen. Scott Newman, R-Hutchinson, will assume the chairmanship of the Minnesota Senate Committee on Transportation when the Legislature reconvenes in January.
The Senate Republican Caucus announced the decision on Tuesday morning, Nov. 22, as committee structure and rosters were unveiled. Newman served as the ranking minority member on the Transportation Committee during the previous session.
“I am excited at the opportunity to serve as the next chair of the Transportation Committee,” said Newman. “The committee has jurisdiction over a number of issues that affect the everyday lives of all Minnesotans, and I am honored that my colleagues have entrusted me to this position.”
As the chair of the Transportation Committee, Newman aims to prioritize the much-needed reconstruction of many roads and bridges all throughout the state of Minnesota, as well as tackling other important issues like Real ID.
The Legislature will reconvene on Jan. 3 and, for the first time since 2012, Republicans will be in control of both the House and the Senate. Of the 67 Senate seats, 34 were won by Republicans this year, giving them their first four-year majority since the Senate switched to party designations in 1976.