warning: file_exists(): open_basedir restriction in effect. File(/var/www/vhosts/glencoenews.com/httpdocs/../ad_/ad_cache_.inc) is not within the allowed path(s): (/var/www/vhosts/glencoenews.com/httpdocs/:/tmp/) in /var/www/vhosts/glencoenews.com/httpdocs/sites/all/modules/ad/adserve.inc on line 160.

Robeck wins city seat; Krueger defeats Terlinden

The city of Glencoe had three council seats on the ballot in Tuesday’s election. There will be one new council member as of Jan. 1 as former city employee Allen Robeck defeated incumbent Lori Adamietz in the at-large councilor race, 902 votes to 609. Precinct 3 incumbent Gary Ziemer was returned to another term with 284 votes to challenger Marie Thurn’s 164. John Schrupp, running unopposed in Precinct 2, was re-elected with 344 votes.
In the McLeod County District 2 Commissioner race, challenger Doug Krueger successfully unseated incumbent Kermit Terlinden 1,290 votes to 997.
Brownton will have a new mayor Jan. 1, as current Council Member Norman Schwarze was elected mayor with 181 votes to candidate Sarah Potts’ 51. Doug Block was returned to his council seat with 191 votes, while former mayor and council member Curt Carrigan earned 184 votes. Carrigan will replace incumbent Chuck Warner, who did not file for another. Current Mayor Jay Werner also did not place his name on the ballot. The City Council will need to appoint someone to fill out the remainder of Schwarze’s council term, which runs another two years.
City of New Auburn voters returned Mayor Doug Munsch to another term. Munsch, running unopposed, received 109 votes. The city will have two new council members, with Barb Schutte topping a field of six candidates with 90 votes, and former mayor Roger Becker garnering 55 to earn the two seats. Finishing behind them were Vickie Holtz, 44; Corey Schwanke, 33; Craig Lowden, 21; and Sherri Lowden, 20.
In Stewart, incumbent Mayor Jason Peirce, running unopposed, was returned to his seat with 112 votes. The city council will have two new members: Curt Glaeser with 125 votes and Chuck Kruggel with 83 topped a field of four to join the council in January. Incumbent Cindy Merrell had 54 votes and Kevin Masrud had 50. Incumbent Mike Knox did not run again.
In Plato, Mayor Bob Becker was returned for another term with 100 votes. VeeAnn Wood was re-elected to the council with 99 votes and Jake Nelson earned a council spot with 94 votes. All ran unopposed.
Results for the GSL School Board race were incomplete when this issue went to press at midnight, and will be posted on The Chronicle website today. Also incomplete were results from the District 5 County Commissioner race, as well as state and federal races.