warning: file_exists(): open_basedir restriction in effect. File(/var/www/vhosts/glencoenews.com/httpdocs/../ad_/ad_cache_.inc) is not within the allowed path(s): (/var/www/vhosts/glencoenews.com/httpdocs/:/tmp/) in /var/www/vhosts/glencoenews.com/httpdocs/sites/all/modules/ad/adserve.inc on line 160.

Townships hold annual meetings; some also have elections of officials

d their annual meetings March 10, and those who do not have fall elections also had annual elections. Following is a round-up of results:
Acoma — About 45 residents attended the annual meeting, and agreed to keep the 2016 tax levy the same as 2015: general fund, $55,000; road and bridge, $143,000; town hall, $10,000; fire administration, $20,000; heavy equipment, $5,000; and fire equipment, $25,000.
Bergen — Voters agreed to build a new town hall at a cost not to exceed $400,000, according to Amy Meyer, township clerk. The 2016 levy was set, with $130,000 dedicated to the road and bridge fund, $33,000 to the general fund and $25,000 for fire protection.
Collins — Eighteen voters turned out and re-elected Pete Maiers to another three-year term as supervisor and Dan Benson to a two-year term as treasurer. The 2016 levy was set at $141,000, which is an increase of $11,000 over the current year. The increase was needed to cover the cost of new fire trucks, said Clerk Al Fredrickson. Voters heard reorts from the Stewart and Brownton fire departments and from McLeod County Commissioner Paul Wright.
Glencoe — Chair James Hueser reported that voters approved a new bridge for the west side of Glencoe.
Hale — Hale Township had  probably the largest turnout of voters with 166 votes cast in the election. Ron Mickolichek was re-elected supervisor for three years with 117 votes, while challenger Ross Jurek received 48 votes. Colleen Kaczmarek was re-elected treasurer with 150 votes. The levy stayed the same, with $80,000 dedicated to the road and bridge fund and $85,000 to the revenue fund. It was reported that the snowplow truck approved at last year’s annual meeting had been purchased. There also were reports regarding the Silver Lake fire and ambulance departments.
Hassan Valley — Garrett Luthens was re-elected supervisor and Shirley Troska was elected as the treasurer. The 22 residents who were present also heard from McLeod County Commissioner Sheldon Nies on the need to replace worn-out street signs.

For more, see the March 18 print edition of The Chronicle.